Scope of search

Navigation




Testimonial

Certus Team

Certus Diagnostics AG

This biotech company develops rapid tests for the detection of pathogens. The tests produced by Certus Diagnostics AG are used for quality control on cell cultures and to identify pathogens in animals, and there are tests for humans in the pipeline. The ability to identify a pathogen in 30 minutes enables the correct and appropriate treatment to be chosen, the two founders of the young company, medical doctor Samuel Zürcher and biologist Alexander Lüthi, firmly believe.

Why are rapid tests so important?

At present pathogens are detected in laboratory tests. This method is certainly reliable but it takes at least two days, which means that a lot of time is lost which could otherwise be used to initiate effective and potentially life-saving treatment. If, as is the case with our rapid test, we know after just 30 minutes which pathogen we need to treat, then we can take a completely different course of action: benefiting the health of the individual, acting to prevent an epidemic, or providing rapid diagnostics at neuralgic points such as airports.

How did you come up with the idea of developing rapid tests?

When my business partner and I worked in infection diagnostics we discovered that there were no reliable rapid tests for infectious diseases. In our search for a solution we invented a gene copying machine that copies genes from a specific pathogen, for example influenza, multiplies them, and makes them visible. Our method is therefore based on genes, or more precisely on the four building blocks of gene DNA, which can be used to detect any living organism, including bacteria, viruses, fungi, parasites, etc.

How reliable is your test method?

We were able to compare our methods with 300 laboratory samples with very good results, which confirmed the reliability of our test method.

You have already won awards such as the De Vigier Award for your invention. How has that benefited Certus Diagnostics AG?

Firstly, it is wonderful to receive recognition for our work by winning the award. And secondly, it has enabled us to access networks where we can exchange information with other young companies and established businesses. We are benefiting enormously from this qualified network.

Has the ecosystem in the Canton of Bern been of benefit to you?

My partner and I come from a university background, so we are researchers rather than entrepreneurs. The coaching we received from the innovation promotion agency be-advanced was a very useful introduction to running a business. It is great that the entrepreneurial spirit is encouraged here. But more generally, we can see potential for establishing the culture of entrepreneurship even more firmly in Switzerland.

Where do you see Certus Diagnostics in seven years’ time?

We currently offer rapid tests that can be used as quality controls for cell cultures in laboratories and for on-site detection of infectious diseases in animals. We aim to be established in the market in these business segments by 2026. And in the best case scenario, we will have successfully completed all the steps in the authorization process for the rapid test in humans and will have already entered the market.

www.certusdiagnostics.com


Further information

 


Mein Warenkorb ([BASKETITEMCOUNT])

Information about this website

https://www.berninvest.be.ch/berninvest/en/index/start-up/start-up/testimonials.html

Suchbereich

Navigation




Testimonial

Certus Team

Certus Diagnostics AG

Das Biotechunternehmen entwickelt Schnelltests zum Erkennen von Infektionserregern. Die Schnelltests der Certus Diagnostics AG werden zur Qualitätskontrolle von Zellkulturen und zur Identifikation von Krankheitserregern beim Tier eingesetzt und sollen künftig auch bei Menschen angewendet werden. Die Identifikation eines Erregers in 30 Minuten ermöglicht die richtige und angepasste Behandlung. Davon sind die beiden Gründer des Jungunternehmens, der Arzt Samuel Zürcher und der Biologe Alexander Lüthi, überzeugt.

Weshalb sind Schnelltests so wichtig?

Heute werden Krankheitserreger in Laboruntersuchungen nachgewiesen. Das ist zwar eine verlässliche Methode, dauert jedoch zwei oder mehr Tage. Damit geht sehr viel Zeit verloren, die für eine wirksame und zum Teil lebenswichtige Behandlung fehlt. Wenn wir wie mit unserem Schnelltest bereits nach 30 Minuten wissen, gegen welchen Erreger behandelt werden kann, dann bietet sich ein ganz anderer Handlungsspielraum: für die Gesundheit beim individuellen Lebewesen, beim Vorgehen gegen Epidemien oder für die schnelle Diagnostik an neuralgischen Punkten wie an einem Flughafen.

Wie sind Sie auf die Idee gekommen, Schnelltests zu entwickeln?

Mein Geschäftspartner und ich haben in der Infektionsdiagnostik gearbeitet und festgestellt, dass es keine zuverlässigen Schnelltests für Infektionskrankheiten gibt. Auf der Suche nach einer Lösung haben wir eine Genkopiermaschine erfunden, die Gene von einem spezifischen Erreger, beispielsweise Influenza, rauskopiert, vervielfältigt und für uns sichtbar macht. Unsere Methode basiert also auf den Genen, genauer auf den 4 Bausteinen der Gen-DNA, womit sich alles was lebt, eben auch Bakterien, Viren, Pilze, Parasiten usw. nachweisen lässt.

Wie zuverlässig ist Ihre Testmethode?

Wir haben unsere Methoden mit 300 Laborproben mit einem sehr guten Resultat vergleichen können. Das hat uns die Zuverlässigkeit unserer Testmethode bestätigt.

Sie haben dafür bereits Preise wie den de Vigier-Preis gewonnen. Was hat das der Certus Diagnostics AG gebracht?

Zum einen ist es schön, mit dem Preisgewinn Anerkennung für unsere Arbeit zu erhalten. Zum anderen haben wir Zugang zu Netzwerken erhalten, wo wir uns mit anderen Jungunternehmen und mit etablierten Firmen austauschen können. Von diesem qualifizierten Netzwerk profitieren wir enorm.

Haben Sie vom Ökosystem im Kanton Bern profitieren können?

Mein Partner und ich kommen von der Uni, wir sind mehr Forscher als Unternehmer. Wir sind durch die Innovationförderagentur be-advanced mit dem Coaching quasi ins Unternehmertum eingeführt worden. Es ist gut, dass hier der Unternehmergeist gefördert wird. Doch ganz allgemein nehmen wir wahr, dass sich die Kultur des Unternehmertums  in der Schweiz noch besser etablieren könnte.

Wo sehen Sie die Certus Diagnostics in 7 Jahren?

Aktuell bieten wir Schnelltests an, die  als Qualitätskontrollen für Zellkulturen in den Labors und als Vor-Ort-Nachweis von Infektionskrankheiten bei Tieren angewendet werden können. Mit diesen Geschäftsbereichen möchten wir im Jahr 2026 im Markt etabliert sein. Und im besten Fall haben wir alle Zulassungsschritte für den Schnelltest am Menschen erfolgreich bestanden und sind dann ebenfalls bereits im Markt eingetreten.

www.certusdiagnostics.com


Weitere Informationen

 


Mein Warenkorb ([BASKETITEMCOUNT])

Informationen über diesen Webauftritt

https://www.berninvest.be.ch/berninvest/de/index/start-up/start-up/testimonials.html