Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneBern Economic Development Agency
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Core competencies and technologies

The Canton of Bern has the highest number of people working in manufacturing in Switzerland. Numerous internationally successful companies are located here. The City of Bern is the seat of the federal government and state-owned enterprises. 

Switzerland’s largest industrial canton is home to numerous successful international companies in the mechanical, precision, watchmaking, and medical technology industries.

Major international players and hidden champions

Biel/Bienne and the Bernese Jura are important locations for the Swiss watch industry, with world-renowned brands such as Omega, Rolex, Longines and Swatch based here. Companies in the precision and mechanical engineering sectors and in other industries such as medical technology and telecommunications have long benefited from the expertise acquired in watchmaking over many decades.

Numerous major international companies are based in the Canton of Bern. But another, less well-known feature of the canton are our many highly specialized and successful hidden champions who are world leaders in their fields.

Key industries

Companies in several key sectors in the Canton of Bern have banded together to form competence centers. These platforms facilitate knowledge and technology transfer between members and promote training and continuing professional development for their staff. They operate independently of the Canton of Bern.

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneStandortförderung Kanton Bern
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Kernkompetenzen und Technologien

Im Kanton Bern arbeiten schweizweit am meisten Arbeitnehmende in der verarbeitenden Industrie. Etliche international erfolgreiche Unternehmen sind hier angesiedelt. Die Stadt Bern ist Sitz der Bundesverwaltung sowie der Unternehmen des Bundes. 

Im grössten Industriekanton der Schweiz haben zahlreiche international erfolgreiche Unternehmen aus Maschinen-, Präzisions- und Uhrenindustrie sowie Medizinaltechnik ihren Sitz.

Internationale Big Players und Hidden Champions

Biel/Bienne und der Berner Jura sind wichtige Standorte der Schweizer Uhrenindustrie: Marken wie Omega, Rolex, Longines und Swatch geniessen Weltruf. Von dem in der Uhrmacherkunst über Jahrzehnte erworbenen Know-how profitieren längst auch Unternehmen der Präzisions- und Maschinenindustrie und andere Branchen wie die Medizinaltechnik oder die Telekommunikation.

Zahlreiche international tätige Grossunternehmen haben im Kanton Bern ihren Sitz. Typisch für den Kanton Bern sind aber auch hoch spezialisierte und erfolgreiche Hidden Champions. Sie sind Weltmarktführer, was oft so nicht bekannt ist.

Schlüsselbranchen

In einigen Schlüsselbranchen haben sich im Kanton Bern Unternehmen zu Kompetenzzentren zusammengeschlossen. Sie sind Plattformen, die für einen Wissens- und Technologietransfer zwischen den Unternehmen sorgen und die Aus- und Weiterbildung ihrer Mitglieder fördern. Sie agieren unabhängig vom Kanton Bern.

Seite teilen